Drop, Thompson, Chipman, Scarbrough Earn Top Awards

, ,

ATHENS —– University of Georgia track and field athlete Samantha Drop and golfer Davis Thompson were recognized as recipients of the 2021 Joel Eaves Award highlighting the annual Dawgs Choice Awards during a virtual banquet Wednesday night.  Drop, from Durham, CT, and Thompson, from Auburn, AL, received the awards presented to the rising seniors with the highest grade point averages.

The Dawgs Choice Awards, supported by The Georgia Way, is put together annually by the UGA Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (S.A.A.C.).

Other top award recipients include soccer player Caroline Chipman of Atlanta who was presented with the Marilyn Vincent Scholar-Athlete Award as the graduating female senior with the highest GPA; and track and field athlete Taylor Scarbrough of Canton, GA,  who earned the Dick Bestwick Scholar-Athlete Award as the male senior with the highest GPA.

The 2021 Georgia recipients for the H. Boyd McWhorter Post-Graduate Scholarship were Davis Thompson (golf) and Caroline Chipman (soccer). Jessica Drop of Durham, Conn., (track and field) and Riley King of Lawrenceville, Ga., (baseball) were presented with the Brad Davis SEC Community Service Post-Graduate Scholarships. 

The equestrian and men’s tennis teams were recognized as the winners of the Faculty Athletics Representative’s Award. The women’s team earned a 3.57 GPA for the 2019-20 academic year, while the men’s team finished with a GPA of 3.43.  

Other award winners include: 
Clifford Lewis Leadership Award: Kayla Smith, Track and Field 
Dick Copas Leadership Award: Jamaree Salyer, Football
Hornsby Howell Community Service Award: all student-athletes
Best Celebration: Baseball

2019-20 Scholar-Athlete Award Winners: (*Student-athletes from each team who had the highest GPA at the conclusion of the last academic year): Emerson Hancock (baseball), Jaxon Etter (men’s basketball), Ariana Henderson (women’s basketball), Caitlin Lyons (equestrian), Mckenzie Maloney (equestrian), Stella Martin (equestrian), Cassidy Scott (equestrian), Nakobe Dean (football), Davis Thompson (men’s golf), Caterina Don (women’s golf), Loulie Hattaway (gymnastics), Ashley Anderson (soccer), Caroline Chipman (soccer), Katie Higgins (soccer), Shelby Suplee (softball), Keegan Walsh (men’s swimming and diving), Callie Dickinson (women’s swimming and diving), Jordan Stout (women’s swimming and diving), Robert Loeb (men’s tennis), Elena Christofi (women’s tennis), Nicholas Yanek (men’s track and field/cross country), Samantha Drop (women’s track and field/cross country), Halle McClintock (women’s track and field/cross country), Tiffany Yue (women’s track and field/cross country) and Londyn Gray (volleyball).

2019-20 Academic Achievement Winners: (*Student-athletes who have exhibited intense focus and/or displayed a marked improvement in the classroom over the course of the past academic year): Parks Harber (baseball), Josh Stinson (baseball), Jaxon Etter (men’s basketball), Gabby Connelly (women’s basketball), Jordan Carpenter (equestrian), Carly Yosurack (equestrian), Nakobe Dean (football), Kearis Jackson (football), Tramel Walthour (football), Zamir White (football), Trevor Phillips (men’s golf), Jenny Bae (women’s golf), Abbey Ward (gymnastics), Cecily Stoute (soccer), Shelby Suplee (softball), Zach Franklin (men’s swimming and diving), Wesley Ng (men’s swimming and diving), Tally Brown (women’s swimming and diving), Zoie Hartman (women’s swimming and diving), Jordan Stout (women’s swimming and diving), Billy Rowe (men’s tennis), Elena Christofi (women’s tennis), Matthew Boling (men’s track and field/cross country), Jasmine Moore (women’s track and field/cross country) and Londyn Gray (volleyball).

Teammates of the Year: Riley King (baseball), Jonathan Ned (men’s basketball), Maya Caldwell (women’s basketball), Isabelle Heckler (equestrian), Chris Smith (football), Trent Phillips (men’s golf), Zoe Walker (women’s golf), Sterlyn Austin (gymnastics), Mollie Belisle (soccer), Sydney Chambley (softball), Jake Magahey (men’s swimming and diving), Tally Brown (women’s swimming and diving), Phillip Henning (men’s tennis), Alee Clayton (women’s tennis), Michael Malkowski (men’s track and field/cross country), Nicole Patchuta (women’s track and field/cross country), and Kianna Young (volleyball).


Posted on

April 8, 2021

Positive SSL